Zenfolding

This weekend just gone my mum hosted a beginners workshop in Iris folding for Christmas. I have done iris folding before so I went to my grandma’s to do some zentangle®, our latest craft addiction. What I ended up doing was a combination of both hence the title of this post “zenfolding”.

I loved this dress design my mum did for a card so i asked her for the template which she got from www.craftsuprint.com

flamboyant, iris folding pattern from www.craftsuprint.com

Instead of using coloured paper, I tangled each strip. This did not take that long as you did not have to cover the entire strip, you just had to make sure the bit that was showing had the pattern on. At first I found my patterns were too big and you hardly saw any pattern. I had to stick to very small patterns with the odd fully coloured. I now think I could have left some plain white. Here is the finished outcome.

I think it turned out quite well, from a distance it catches your eye with the black and white contrast and then as you look closer you can see all the patterns that make it up. Now i have to decide, do i keep it or give it to someone for their birthday?

What to do next? i think it may just have to be the Tim Holtz October tag http://timholtz.com/12-tags-of-2013-october/

Saturday in the Craft Room – Events coming up…….

November 2nd 2013 2pm-6pm – Kimekomi for beginners £17.50

November 30th 2013 2pm-5pm – Stamping for beginners, Christmas Special £10 – you will learn a triple layer stamping technique

triple stamping

All workshops include materials and refreshments

We are based in Scarborough, if you are interested in attending any workshops, please leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.

Leave a Reply

